Grasping for the Wind Rotating Header Image

2012 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award Finalists

These are the finalists for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for best short science fiction. The Award is presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas, as the focal point of a weekend of discussions about the writing, illustration, publishing, teaching, and criticism of science fiction.

Congrats to the finalists!

Charlie Jane Anders Six Months, Three Days, June
Paul Cornell The Copenhagen Interpretation Asimov’s, July
Yoon Ha Lee Ghostweight Clarkesworld, January
Kij Johnson The Man Who Bridged the Mist
NOTE: Johnson, a juror, removed
the story from consideration.
Asimov’s, Oct / Nov
Jake Kerr The Old Equations Lightspeed, July
Ken Liu The Man Who Ended History:
A Documentary
Panverse Three
Ken Liu The Paper Menagerie F&SF, March / April
Paul McAuley The Choice Asimov’s, Dec / Jan
Catherynne M. Valente Silently and Very Fast Clarkesworld, October