Grasping for the Wind Rotating Header Image

2011 Nebula Awards Winners

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) have announced the winners for this year’s Nebula Awards, the Ray Bradbury Award, and the Andre Norton Award.

Congratulations to all the honorees and winners!


  • Among Others, Jo Walton (Tor) – WINNER
  • Embassytown, China Miéville (Macmillan (UK); Del Rey; Subterranean Press)
  • Firebird, Jack McDevitt (Ace Books)
  • God’s War, Kameron Hurley (Night Shade Books)
  • Mechanique: A Tale of the Circus Tresaulti, Genevieve Valentine (Prime Books)
  • The Kingdom of Gods, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)


  • The Man Who Bridged the Mist,” Kij Johnson (Asimov’s Science Fiction, October/November 2011) – WINNER
  • Kiss Me Twice,” Mary Robinette Kowal (Asimov’s Science Fiction, June 2011)
  • Silently and Very Fast,” Catherynne M. Valente (WFSA Press; Clarkesworld Magazine, October 2011)
  • “The Ice Owl,” Carolyn Ives Gilman (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, November/December 2011)
  • The Man Who Ended History: A Documentary,” Ken Liu (Panverse Three, Panverse Publishing)
  • “With Unclean Hands,” Adam-Troy Castro (Analog Science Fiction and Fact, November 2011)


  • “What We Found,” Geoff Ryman (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, September/October 2011) – WINNER
  • “Fields of Gold,” Rachel Swirsky (Eclipse 4, Night Shade Books)
  • “Ray of Light,” Brad R. Torgersen (Analog Science Fiction and Fact, December 2011)
  • Sauerkraut Station,” Ferrett Steinmetz (Giganotosaurus, November 2011)
  • Six Months, Three Days,” Charlie Jane Anders (, June 2011)
  • The Migratory Pattern of Dancers,” Katherine Sparrow (Giganotosaurus, July 2011)
  • The Old Equations,” Jake Kerr (Lightspeed Magazine, July 2011)

Short Story

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

  • Doctor Who: “The Doctor’s Wife,” Neil Gaiman (writer), Richard Clark (director) (BBC Wales) – WINNER
  • Attack the Block, Joe Cornish (writer/director) (Optimum Releasing; Screen Gems)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger, Christopher Markus, Stephen McFeely (writers), Joe Johnston (director) (Paramount)
  • Hugo, John Logan (writer), Martin Scorsese (director) (Paramount)
  • Midnight in Paris, Woody Allen (writer/director) (Sony)
  • Source Code, Ben Ripley (writer), Duncan Jones (director) (Summit)
  • The Adjustment Bureau, George Nolfi (writer/director) (Universal)

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy Book

  • The Freedom Maze, Delia Sherman (Big Mouth House) – WINNER
  • Akata Witch, Nnedi Okorafor (Viking Juvenile)
  • Chime, Franny Billingsley (Dial Books; Bloomsbury)
  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Laini Taylor (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers; Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Everybody Sees the Ants, A.S. King (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers)
  • The Boy at the End of the World, Greg van Eekhout (Bloomsbury Children’s Books)
  • The Girl of Fire and Thorns, Rae Carson (Greenwillow Books)
  • Ultraviolet, R.J. Anderson (Orchard Books; Carolrhoda Books)

The Solstice Award was granted to John Clute and posthumously to Octavia Butler to acknowledge their significant positive impact on the science fiction and fantasy landscape. This year’s Solstice award was crafted by Mike Libby of Insect Lab.

The Service to SFWA Award went to Bud Webster.

The winners were announced at the banquet during SFWA’s 47th Annual Nebula Awards Weekend, held on Saturday, May 19 during the awards weekend at the Hyatt Regency Crystal City in Arlington, Virginia.

SFWA President John Scalzi about this year’s winner’s slate, “This is a fantastic list that shows both the width and depth of our genre. It shows that Science Fiction and Fantasy are not static but continue to grow and change. We are truly blessed with a fantastic slate of finalists this year. That these authors came out as the winners, is a credit to both the strength of the slate itself and the individual authors, and I couldn’t be happier for you. Congratulations to you all.”

Connie Willis was the recipient of the 2011 Damon Knight Grand Master Award for her lifetime contributions to, and achievements in, the field. Walter Jon Williams presided as toastmaster, with astronaut Michael Fincke as keynote speaker. More information on SFWA and the Nebula Awards can be found on SFWA’s site.