Grasping for the Wind Rotating Header Image

2011 Hugo and Campbell Award Nominees

The Hugo Awards, presented annually since 1955, are science fiction’s most prestigious award. The Hugo Awards are voted on by members of the World Science Fiction Convention (“Worldcon”), which is also responsible for administering them. Previous winners in the novel category have included great novels like Dune by Frank Herbert, The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin, Neuromancer by William Gibson, American Gods by Neil Gaiman, and many others.

Last year The City & the City by China Mieville and The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi co-won. This year, it will be one of the following:

(Links provided to give context to the award or access to free fiction)

Best Novel

Blackout/All Clear by Connie Willis (Ballantine Spectra)

Cryoburn by Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)

The Dervish House by Ian McDonald (Gollancz; Pyr)

Feed by Mira Grant (Orbit)

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin (Orbit)

Best Novella

“The Lady Who Plucked Red Flowers beneath the Queen’s Window” by Rachel Swirsky (Subterranean Magazine, Summer 2010)

The Lifecycle of Software Objects by Ted Chiang (Subterranean)

“The Maiden Flight of McCauley’s Bellerophon” by Elizabeth Hand (Stories: All-New Tales, William Morrow)

“The Sultan of the Clouds” by Geoffrey A. Landis (Asimov’s, September 2010)

Troika by Alastair Reynolds (Godlike Machines, Science Fiction Book Club)

Best Novelette

“Eight Miles” by Sean McMullen (Analog, September 2010)

The Emperor of Mars by Allen M. Steele (Asimov’s, June 2010)

The Jaguar House, in Shadow by Aliette de Bodard (Asimov’s, July 2010)

Plus or Minus by James Patrick Kelly (Asimov’s, December 2010)

That Leviathan, Whom Thou Hast Made by Eric James Stone (Analog, September 2010)

Best Short Story

Amaryllis by Carrie Vaughn (Lightspeed, June 2010)

“For Want of a Nail” by Mary Robinette Kowal (Asimov’s, September 2010)

Ponies by Kij Johnson (, November 17, 2010)

The Things by Peter Watts (Clarkesworld, January 2010)

Best Related Work

Bearings: Reviews 1997-2001, by Gary K. Wolfe (Beccon)

The Business of Science Fiction: Two Insiders Discuss Writing and Publishing, by Mike Resnick and Barry N. Malzberg (McFarland)

Chicks Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the Women Who Love It, edited by Lynne M. Thomas and Tara O’Shea (Mad Norwegian)

Robert A. Heinlein: In Dialogue with His Century: Volume 1 (1907-1948): Learning Curve, by William H. Patterson, Jr. (Tor)

Writing Excuses, Season 4, by Brandon Sanderson, Jordan Sanderson, Howard Tayler, Dan Wells

Best Graphic Story

Fables Vol. 14: Witches, written by Bill Willingham; illustrated by Mark Buckingham (Vertigo)

Girl Genius, Volume 10: Agatha Heterodyne and the Guardian Muse, written by Phil and Kaja Foglio; art by Phil Foglio; colors by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)

Grandville Mon Amour, by Bryan Talbot (Dark Horse)

Schlock Mercenary: Massively Parallel, written and illustrated by Howard Tayler; colors by Howard Tayler and Travis Walton (Hypernode)

The Unwritten Vol. 2: Inside Man, written by Mike Carey; illustrated by Peter Gross (Vertigo)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1, screenplay by Steve Kloves; directed by David Yates (Warner)

How to Train Your Dragon, screenplay by William Davies, Dean DeBlois & Chris Sanders; directed by Dean DeBlois & Chris Sanders (DreamWorks)

Inception, written and directed by Christopher Nolan (Warner)

Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, screenplay by Michael Bacall & Edgar Wright; directed by Edgar Wright (Universal)

Toy Story 3, screenplay by Michael Arndt; story by John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton & Lee Unkrich; directed by Lee Unkrich (Pixar/Disney)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

Doctor Who: A Christmas Carol written by Steven Moffat; directed by Toby Haynes (BBC Wales)

Doctor Who:The Pandorica Opens/The Big Bang,” written by Steven Moffat; directed by Toby Haynes (BBC Wales)

Doctor Who:Vincent and the Doctor,” written by Richard Curtis; directed by Jonny Campbell (BBC Wales)

[***] Me, Ray Bradbury, written by Rachel Bloom; directed by Paul Briganti

The Lost Thing, written by Shaun Tan; directed by Andrew Ruhemann and Shaun Tan (Passion Pictures)

Best Editor, Short Form

John Joseph Adams

Stanley Schmidt

Jonathan Strahan

Gordon Van Gelder

Sheila Williams

Best Editor, Long Form

Lou Anders

Ginjer Buchanan

Moshe Feder

Liz Gorinsky

Nick Mamatas

[Check out this GFTW interview with Mamatas]

Beth Meacham

Juliet Ulman

Best Professional Artist

Daniel Dos Santos

Bob Eggleton

Stephan Martiniere

John Picacio

Shaun Tan

Best Semiprozine

Clarkesworld, edited by Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan, Sean Wallace; podcast directed by Kate Baker

Interzone, edited by Andy Cox

Lightspeed, edited by John Joseph Adams

Locus, edited by Liza Groen Trombi and Kirsten Gong-Wong

Weird Tales, edited by Ann VanderMeer and Stephen H. Segal

Best Fanzine

Banana Wings, edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer

Challenger, edited by Guy H. Lillian III

The Drink Tank, edited by Christopher J Garcia and James Bacon

File 770, edited by Mike Glyer

StarShipSofa, edited by Tony C. Smith

Best Fan Writer

James Bacon

Claire Brialey

Christopher J Garcia

James Nicoll

Steven H Silver

Best Fan Artist

Brad W. Foster

Randall Munroe

Maurine Starkey

Steve Stiles

Taral Wayne

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Award for the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer of 2009 or 2010, sponsored by Dell Magazines (not a Hugo Award).

Saladin Ahmed

Lauren Beukes

Larry Correia

Lev Grossman

Dan Wells

Note: All Campbell finalists are in their 2nd year of eligibility.

Congratulations to all those nominated! The winners will be announced Saturday, August 20, 2011, at Renovation in Reno, Nevada.

Watch the live announcement of the nominees at Eastercon!